Artificial Intelligence and Democratic Values



Press Release


FOR RELEASE

Monday, 21 February 2022

 09.00 EST / 15.00 CET

 

Updated Index Ranks AI Policies and Practices in 50 Countries

 

Canada, Germany, Italy, and Korea Rank at Top, 

US Makes Progress as Concerns about China Remain

 

AI POLICY HIGHLIGHTS -2021

 

- UNESCO AI Recommendation banned social scoring and mass surveillance

- EU Introduced comprehensive, risk-based framework

- Council of Europe makes progress on AI convention

- Continued progress on implementation of OECD Principles, first AI policy framework

- G7 leaders endorsed algorithmic transparency to combat AI bias

- US opens-up policy process, embraces “democratic values”

- EU and US move toward alignment on AI policy

- AI regulation in China leaves open questions about independent oversight

- UN fails to reach agreement on lethal autonomous weapons

- Growing global battle over deployment of facial recognition looms ahead 

 

[PRESS RELEASE]


Background


In 2020, the Center for AI and Digital Policy published the first worldwide assessment of AI policies and practices. Artificial Intelligence and Democratic Values rated and ranked 30 countries, based on a rigorous methodology and 12 metrics established to assess alignment with democratic values.

 

The 2021 Report expands the global coverage from 30 countries to 50 countries, acknowledges the significance of the UNESCO Recommendation on AI ethics, and reviews earlier country ratings. The 2021 report is the result of the work of more than 100 AI policy experts in almost 40 countries.



AI Index - Country Ratings



CAIDP AI Index - Score on Metrics


Panel Discussion


Panel discussion with Merve Hickok, Marc Rotenberg, Fanny Hidvegi, Karine Caunes,  Eduardo Bertoni,  Jibu Elias, Stuart Russell, and Vice President of the European Parliament Eva Kaili. CAIDP, 21 Feb. 21 2022.




Report release -

ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE AND DEMOCRATIC VALUES INDEX

 

Monday, 21 February 2022

10.00 EST / 16.00 CET to 11.00 EST / 17.00 CET

 

Welcome

  • Karine Caunes, CAIDP Global Program Director

Keynote Remarks

  • Eva Kaili, Vice President European Parliament

Report Presentation

  • Merve Hickok, CAIDP Research Director

Panel Discussion

  • Professor Eduardo Bertoni, Inter American Institute of Human Rights
  • Jibu Elias, National AI Portal of India
  • Fanny Hidvegi, Access Now, European Policy Manager
  • Professor Stuart Russell, University of California Berkeley

Closing Remarks

  • Marc Rotenberg, CAIDP President

[Register]


AI Index - 2021 v. 2020

CAIDP AI Index - Country Ratings by Tier


CAIDP AI Index - Country Ratings 2021 v. 2020


The Report



Highlights



Endorsements



News Reports




AI Decoded (Feb. 23, 2022)


Digital Bridge (Feb. 25, 2022)


Comments?


Send revisions and updates to editor@caidp.org